Quantitative Psychology and Psychometrics Fall 2013 Applicants

Quant_Liz_Lemon

• 4 weeks later...

Hey...am also planning to apply for some quant psych programs for fall 2013, but have not finalized which ones yet. I came across the field whilst researching programs on decision sciences and behavioral research (e.g. the kind of program CMU has), and quickly realised that quant psych had a lot of what I was looking for. Whats your story ?

Also, on what basis have you shortlisted the programs you are applying to - are you aware of any specific strengths that these programs have? What I am still trying to figure out is whether a strong psych background is necessary to apply successfully? The programs I have researched so far seem to give a mixed opinion - any views? My background is engineering followed by an MBA, with a reasonable (though not fantastic) background in mathematical and statistical courses, computer programming, some experience in SAS, and about 10 yrs of completely irrelevant work experience. No psych, lab or core research experience. Any feedback on my profile for quant psych ?

I short-listed my schools based on program reputation as well as research interest match. My interests focus upon longitudinal methods, marital satisfaction, and personality.

In general, the top programs seem to be ASU(social), OSU (cognitive), WUSTL (clinical), and Vanderbilt(developmental). They're the larger programs and have the tendency to place their students directly into assistant professorships.

I have a major in economics and am finishing up a major in psychology from a well known program. I have an adequate background in math: calc III, econometrics, symbolic logic, and I'll have finished up the quant methods track by the time I graduate.