History Teacher Applying for Ph.D.

Salome128

Hi all,

My apologies if a similar topic has been posted already (I didn't see anything like it, but I'm new to GradCafe so I may have missed it) but I'm here with a question...

I'm in a little bit of a unique situation -- next year I will complete a Master of Arts in Teaching in social studies. As an undergrad, I double-majored in history with a Middle East concentration and an Arabic minor. I really want to pursue a Ph.D. in history (still concentrating in the Middle East) in order to become a stronger and better-informed teacher. I think that I would enjoy teaching at the college-level as well, but my ultimate goal would not be to secure a college/university TT position (I thought about going that route and then decided that secondary teaching was just a better fit for me personally).

I'm thinking about applying for Fall of 2014 (although it may be smarter for me to wait to apply until after I have been teaching full-time for a couple of years -- I'm not entirely sure yet) and so my question is this: do you think that openly announcing, in my personal statement, that I don't want to pursue a career in higher education and want to stay in secondary teaching would be a death knell to my application? Do you think that a faculty committee reading my application would think to themselves, "This person obviously doesn't take the Ph.D. seriously" and reject me? I really want to obtain the Ph.D. to provide the highest-quality education I can to my students and to become a strong teacher-scholar, and because I am sincerely enthusiastic about my subject area and want to expand my knowledge about it as much as possible, but I can also understand how an admissions committee might just find my whole application "silly." :(

Any thoughts?

Thanks for reading and good luck to all of you applying this year! :)