How did you go about preparing for the GRE?

10thomer

Does anyone who has taken the GRE have any words of advice as far as preparation goes? If you did well, how did you prepare? If you did not meet your expectations, what would you do differently? Any information would be much appreciated! Thanks!

The main thing: practice tests on the computer.  Get yourself acquainted with and prepare for the testing format.  I think ETS provides one or two practice tests for free.  I also did a free one from the Princeton Review and I bought a Kaplan book that came with five online practice tests.  I also bought flashcards for vocabulary and used the Kaplan book for quantitative and analytical writing strategies.

I did the powerprep and princeton review tests. I also drilled the princeton review vocab list, which I thought was super useful for the actual test. I studied the princeton review strategies, and while I thought the tips for the verbal section were useful, if I were to do it again I would use another resource for reviewing math. I was reasonably satisfied with my scores: 164Q 166V 4.0AW (didn't practice writing at all).

Practice on the computer (pay for a CD or other program), simulating the conditions of the actual test as much as possible. Start as early as possible and practice as often as you can, until you are totally comfortable answering GRE type questions.

I was very happy with my scores for Q and V. However, my AW could've been higher. For AW, practice typing as fast as you can and write A LOT (4-6 paragraphs for the issue essay). I wish I had practiced the writing sections more. 

People have already given good advice for long-term strategies, so I'll give some tips for the day of the test itself.