SSHRC award but no grad school???

FCP

Is it possible to get a SSHRC award, and still be rejected from a graduate school?

I've been told that my application has been forwarded to the SSHRC people. I am a fourth year undergrad, and I have only applied to one school for clinical psychology (fall 2013). I have a strong GPA, and positive research experience (both thesis and working in a lab). 

Anyone know how schools look on applicants that have received awards?

Edited by FCP

Your SSHRC application was forwarded to the national competition by your current university. It is still possible that you won't be funded. In fact, many otherwise successful applications have, in recent years, been declined only because there was not enough funding. 

you may not be admitted to a graduate program for a number of reasons. apart from your grades and the quality of your application, your program might simply be competitive. A graduate fellowship would certainly make you more appealing to potential supervisors but it wouldn't guarantee your admission. 

I think that you can defer SSHRC by one year.

It is possible to win a sshrc and be rejected, but you will very likely get into any program you want with a sshrc win.  People who win a sshrc and do not get into a grad program can contact the school to let them know they have won a sshrc. In almost all cases said program will admit you because sshrc will cover your expenses and grad programs want and need sshc winners ( the university gets money for  and it may increase their quota for next year).

If you were passed on for the MA competition you have about a 90-95% chance of winning sshrc, so congrats you will most likely be going to grad school next year.