What Concentration of Psychology Is This?

BCB

Hi, everyone, sorry for being a complete noob to the whole grad student process in general, and psychology in particular.

I have a BBA in Finance and have worked as a personal financial planner for about three years now. I entered the profession because I am fascinated by how people make decisions about money and how money relates to happiness. However, getting to explore the psychology of clients' decisions turned out to be like 5% of the actual job. So over the past six months or so I've realized that a career in psychology would be much more in line with my interests.

However, I'm having a really hard time figuring out which area of psychology that my interests fall into. My major interests are in happiness (especially in relation to money and careers), behavior and decision-making, and motivation and goal-setting.

Would this fall under I/O psychology because of my interest in employee happiness/career decisions? Or would it be social? Or something else?

Thank you for any and all guidance, and good luck to anyone still waiting to hear back from their schools! 

It seems like you can do either social or I/O depending on the program. I dont know much about this area, but it seems like there are business schools that have programs for this as well. One of the recent graduate students at my school took a job at a business school near NYC. Vaguely speaking, he studied the role of money in interpersonal relationships as a social student. 

You should look into the work of Kathleen Vohs (I believe she is at a business school in Minnesota) and her colleagues to where they are at/where they come from.