International student applying to US graduate programs

Dear all,

I am a student from the Netherlands and I wish to apply to US graduate programs this year. However, as an international student I do not know how well my academic credentials compete against those of US students, or those of other international students. I was hoping that some people here could help shed light on this matter.

I am looking for graduate programs in biochemistry/molecular biology. My aim is to apply to one or more of the following programs: Stanford -biosc, UCSF-tetrad, UC Berkeley-MCB, Harvard-MCB, MIT-bio, Columbia-biochem, Yale-MCDB, Princeton-MB, and The Scripps Institute.

My academic credentials:

Undergrad Institution: B.Sc. (honors program) + M.Sc., both with the highest possible distinctions, from an average Dutch university.

• All 15-or-so universities in the Netherlands ranked approximately evenly, and somewhere within the top ~50-100 of the world.

Majors: Biomed, Chemistry

Overall GPA: minimally 3.85, but more likely somewhere around 3.95 for both my B.Sc. and my M.Sc.

• I haven’t officially converted my Dutch GPA into a US one, but I’m somwhere in the top 5% grade-range in my country.

GRE: I do not have my subject GRE scores or my general GRE scores yet, but I plan to do them later this year.

IELTS: 8.5 avg.

Research Experience: I have 2 years of fulltime research experience, of which one year has been at a mid-level Ivy university (not Harvard) in the US. I am third author on 1 publication, in a journal with an average-to-good impact factor.

Extra: I have been a tutor in biology and chemistry, and later on a chemistry teaching assistant for about a year. I have been awarded 4 competitive Dutch scholarships to study abroad.