Your Advice for a Prospective Ph.D

BC1010

Longtime lurker on these forums, folks seem to offer a great deal of knowledge and support being shared. Posing a very simple question:

What advice would you give to someone who wants to apply for Ph.D in History in the next application cycle?

Interested in whatever insight you'd like to offer or lesson learned from your experience.

(If you'd like to tailor your advice to me, in particular, I studied European History as an undergrad, hope to switch to American in grad school)

Yeeeeaaaaahhhhhhh another historian!!!!!!! Here's my advice:

1. Contact the department. Do not start choosing schools by their reputation, choose them by their department. It is nice to apply to an Ivy League school but if your interests do not match, it is stupid. I wanted to apply to Harvard, besides there is generous funding from my country to go there but my interests did not even come close to those of the department.

2. Do your research. This is connected to the one before. Really investigate where you want to go, not only for the academics but also for the place. I did not apply to a place I did not want to live in. Check if your hobbies are available, for example, I checked out for field hockey teams. Ask EVERYTHING to grad students, most are happy to help you and to meet you if they have a chance. Many will advice you one the mood in the department, funding, housing, etc. Furthermore, they know very well the departments rankings/interests focus and thus can advice you to also try elsewhere.