Paralyzed by indecision. Help!

Janie M.

Hello, all. It has been my dream for the last several years to return to school to get a master's in a writing and/or publishing-related field. I have been out of the academic world for over ten years. I did work in the journalism field for several years after my undergrad (I have my bachelor's degree in journalism), but realized I was looking for more. Anyway, it's a long story, but I ended up waiting tables in upscale restaurants for way longer than I ever intended. I greatly enjoy being in an academic environment and since I couldn't find work with just my bachelor's, after quite some time, I made it my goal to return to school. In the past several years, I have worked extremely hard to build up my resume in this field. I have even worked on a few projects without any financial compensation, because I desperately needed recent professional experience to put on my resume.

I am proud to say that my diligent work did eventually pay off, as I was recently accepted to both the grad programs that I applied to for next year. Even though this is my dream, I am close to potentially destroying this opportunity completely because I simply cannot decide which option to choose. Since I'm in my mid-thirties, I feel very pressured to make the absolute right decision because I don't have much time to make professional mistakes or choose the wrong path. I feel like I am a character in a Camus or Kafka story.