Help! Grad school or no grad school?!

steffy_stef

Hello everyone! I would first like to thank the people who read this because it will be lengthy! I really have no one to go to to discuss grad school. I'm contemplating whether or not to go. I was so set on grad school for either a PsyD or PhD in child clinical psychology until I started looking into programs and reading personal experiences. I know grad school is different for everybody, and the conclusion to all of this is making the best out of your program. But in reality, there are many other factors stopping me.

I'm a recent grad from UC Santa Barbara and I majored in Psychology and minored in Applied Psychology. I graduated in 3 years with an overall GPA of 2.97. With that alone, I feel discoruaged in applying to psychology programs. Statistically, my GPA doesn't compare, but I have heard stories of students with low GPAs still getting into good programs. The other issue is the little (I think) experience I have to help my image. I did have two RA postitions my last year at UCSB and volunteered as a child care provider in a child abuse mediation center for a while. I graduated last year and decided to take a break before really looking into programs. During that year, I worked as an after school teacher for a third grade class hoping that would look good on my resume. Now I'm jobless, looking into grad schools and feeling discouraged. Financially, I'm about $40 grand in debt already for undergrad and can't even begin paying off that debt. I'm living home with my parents who also can barely keep up with their own payments but tell me that I shouldn't even worry about that if my dream is going to grad school. I'm only 21, but I'm feeling pressured into all of this. But when I tell myself that I don't need to go to grad school, then I feel lost because I do have my heart set with doing something more within psychology.