SIPA, Columbia Quantitative Resume

junil89

Hello, I graduated from college about a year ago and I plan to apply to SIPA for the upcoming spring enrollment (2014). I think SIPA focuses more on quantitative background compared to other IR grad schools and it requires its prospective students to write a Quantitative Resume

I am not sure whether my quantitative background is strong enough so I would really appreciate it if you can tell me whether it looks good enough or not.

Undergraduate

- Microeconomics B

- Macroeconomics B+

- Fundamental International Economics B

- Sustainable Development (Heavily focused on economics) A-

- Internet/Web Technology (Computer Programming) A-

Highschool

- Precalculus (Honors) B+

- A.P Statistics 3/5

Professional Experience 

- Data Analysis/Presentation (Internship in Spain)

If this does not look good enough, I am going to take an extra course this summer. I think they also want students to have taken a undergraduate level calculus but I do not have that but I am hoping that this is good enough. Oh, BTW, I have 168 Quant. score on GRE; I wonder if it helps.

So if anybody know anything about SIPA quantitative resume, please comment! I would really appreciate it!

Thank you!

I agree that you should take your high school classes off there.  They're interested in undergraduate quant work and any quant work you may have done in your professional career.

A 168 on the GRE will definitely boost your application, but I think you should take calculus I at least.  Many of the economics and statistics classes are based in calculus or at least heavily related to calculus.  Of course, not all SIPA students have had calculus, but it will strengthen your quant resume.

Thank you everyone for your replies.

But I have one more question!

I took an SAT subject test on Math Level II about 5 years ago.

I got 750 on it.

Would it be helpful to put it on my resume as well or do they not care about that either?