Guilt is preventing me from TAing (no joke!)

spunky

i know this may sound a little bit weird, but it's starting to become a pain in the behind for me. 

about a couple of years ago i started my MA in Psychometrics (Quantitative Psychology) in the University of British Columbia (Vancouver, BC, Canada). i am very fortunate because i come from a family with enough financial resources that my parents are basically footing the bill for tuition, rent, books, going to conferences, everything. the people in my cohort are not as lucky as i am, so i thought the fair thing to do would be to always give them first dibs on any TA, RA or teaching positions. so didn't TA the first semester... nor the semester after that.... nor the semester after that.... nor the semester after that... etc all the way until last May when i graduated.

i am starting my PhD in September and i REALLY, REALLY want to teach because my CV is severely lacking in that area (and my dream is to become a university prof one day), but then there are these other grad students who also REALLY REALLY need the money. sometime in april (before the semester ended) i casually commented that i was planning to apply for one of the TA positions in September and the immediate reaction was something along the lines of "but you don't need it, you're getting a free ride!" which i sensed was a joke masking the frustration/fear that if i applied, someone's gonna end up without TAship.

i'm really torn right  now. on the one hand i feel very guilty, particularly considering in how much student debt some of these people are in. on the other hand, i feel like 2 years of letting other people benefit from this is enough and that i, too, have the right to ask for a position. 

overall i'm just feeling like crap :(

help please?

Your parents paying the bill and you getting a free ride are two different things. I wouldn't consider your situation a free ride.