GRE--Fear

sg1050

I have to take the GRE as most graduate bound students do, but I  am stricken with fear. I am absolutely afraid I will do horrible on the GRE, I'm so afraid to the point where I honestly believe when I take it and do horrible I won't get into any graduate programs. I studied over the summer but stopped for a while and now I take it this Saturday. Any advice to calm the nerves? Also, what is a bad score?!

Well, practice tests give you a pretty good estimate of where you are at. Depending on your results, you may or may not have a reason to worry.

Beyond that, just relax and only worry about what you can control. Do your best to fine-tune this week, and go in there with a confident attitude and give it all you got.

The GRE is only part of you application, applications are only part of grad school, and grad school is only PART of life.  Relax

SP30

Assuming you have a December 15 deadline for applications, you have time. Take the exam this Saturday knowing that you do have time to retake if needed. While that does not mean you shouldn't do your best, do know that it is OK if the score is not yet what you would like. At the minimum, this exam will give you additional practice for a second try.

Have you taken a practice exam yet? If so, what was your score? It's hard to say what a "bad" score is, especially since I don't know your field or the schools you are applying to.

What I did to eliminate the fear (since I had the same issue!) was to go ahead and sign up for two GRE dates, the second one two weeks after the first.  Yeah, it cost more money, but it was worth it because I got really good scores both times - the first time, partly because I knew I had a second chance, and the second time I did even better, partly because I knew I already had a good enough score as it was.  :)  Just something to consider, if you have the funds.