Unusual mDiv Applicant. Chances?

wonedy

Hello!

I'm currently considering applying for an mDiv. My call is strong, but unfortunately I'm not sure if I'm exactly what divinity schools like Yale, Vanderbilt & Emory (where I intend to apply) are looking for, even though I'm not exactly sure what a typical mDiv student at these institutions really 'looks like.' I'm not considering Duke.

Without writing a personal statement, this is me in a nut-shell:

I come from an unhealthy family (drugs, alcohol, anger) and I left home at 16. Hard work and the grace of God landed me a full ride merit scholarship to a top ten university, where I held several on campus leadership positions, published in a journal or two, and ultimately graduated with a 3.71 GPA in History and Women's Studies.

I'm currently a Spanish teacher in Memphis, TN with the Teach For America program. Working in a high-needs classroom has been a transformational experience for me, and it was in Memphis that I heard my call. I realized the precariousness of my life and ego, that all of my accomplishments were really blessings, the grace of God meant to prepare me for a life of giving and ministry. This is inescapable for me now: after hearing my students stories and seeing their battle wounds--physical and psychical--I cannot and will not return to the business-as-usual of white bourgeious privilege. Also, I am gay.