Current Berkeley Goldman School of Public Policy Student

socal_kid

Hey all,

I am currently attending GSPP and would be more than happy to answer questions specific to the school or application process.  As some background, I went to a UC for my undergrad where I studied Econ.  I had 5 years of work experience mostly in private sector, and my top two choices were Berkeley and Johns Hopkins SAIS.  I received a half scholarship to Hopkins, but Berkeley's proximity to home, weather, and very affordable costs swayed me at the end of the day (If you TA/research at Berkeley, you get a good portion of your tuition paid for).  

Any details you want to know about, just ask or PM me.  I won't give you any BS.  

Socal_kid, based on your experience, are full tuition scholarships likely or common at "top" grad programs in IR/development?

They are available, but obviously not too common.  They are given, logically, to those with really high GPA's and test scores.  If I had to guess there probably aren't more than a handful given out at most of these programs just because they are so pricey and these schools obviously make a lot of money of their students.  So not impossible, but don't go in thinking you're going to get a full ride unless you have close to a 4.0 GPA and high GRE's.  

Edit: For those who like me were concerned about financing, definitely look into Princeton Woodrow Wilson.  They give almost all their students free tuition, a stipend for living, or both.  

Edited by socal_kid