Anybody got into doctoral program with bachelor's degree in psych?

coffee_maniac

I stopped by one of my professors office today. She told me that it is a waste of money to apply for doctoral program if I only have bachelor's degree in psych.... Is this true?

Any recommendations of schools that normally consider students with bachelors degree for funded graduate study?

My background is bachelor (GPA = 3.9) with 2 years of related counseling work. My goal is to go to graduate school with funding, as I cannot afford the tuition. Thank you all for your time and effort!

What she told you is false. In fact, many of the doctoral programs I have looked at (in cognitive and social psych) specifically mention that a master's degree provides no leg up in the application process. Of course a master's couldn't hurt, but research experience is much more important. I only have a BA and some research experience, and I am currently applying to PhD programs. So, do your research on programs that interest you, but I wouldn't listen to that prof. 

Agreed. I got my MS before applying to a PhD program, and it is concerned a bit of an nontraditional path.

Unless she meant that you should take a few years to work to get more research experience- she may have meant that it's unusual for people to go straight from undergrad to a PhD program.

I find it difficult to believe that a professor would say this.  Are you sure she wasn't referring to some other shortcoming in your qualifications?  Do you have research experience?  A complete lack of research experience would probably be a deal-breaker.  But going into PhD programs from undergrad is common.   You usually get your master's along the way, but you are committed - and accepted - for the completion of your doctorate.

I have not come across a single person inside academia who doesn't know that you can go from an undergrad straight into a PhD program.  What do the other professors in your department tell you?

Edited by Bren2014