Graduate student-undergraduate boundaries...?

fancyfeast

Hi. I'm new here. I'm an undergrad, female, and a junior. Just wanted advice on how to handle this situation that I put myself in.

There is a graduate student in the lab I work in who I'm kind of friends with (we're both female - not lesbians, just kinda friends. I say "kinda" because there's a bit of an age difference; it's not always possible to relate to one another/she helps guide me when I ask, she's not my mentor though). We get along fairly well, we like the same things and actually spend a good deal of time hanging out outside the lab... Sounds great, right?

Well, here's the problem... When she's stressed - which can be quite often - she is utterly, absolutely rude, mean, and dismissive towards me. There's never any warning - something as simple as a hello in the morning when I first see her or a glance in her direction that can set her off. She'll glare at me, mumble what I assume is hello, and say something about how she's working on an experiment (aka - leave me the hell alone). Once she ran out of the office after I said asked how her week was after being out of the lab for exams - I guess she had somewhere to be? I don't think I can convey how she looks/talks/acts towards me via writing. It's all sneers and annoyance - and I swear I'm not pestering her! And I don't usually get mad. How can I when I know she just does it because she's stressed? The thing is, she only does it to me and, to be honest, it stings. How am I to know when she's willing to talk and when she just wants to be left alone? It's one thing for me to bother her after realizing she's busy, but I feel like it's another to say hello to her or look in her general direction, and get treated like crap - maybe it's because I'm younger than her so it's okay? It's fine to be stressed and just want some space but it's not okay to be rude to me for no reason.