Dilemma - drop out for law school or stick it out?

allcaps

(Dear mods, I'm very sorry if this is incorrectly placed - not sure where else to put it so feel free to move.)

Hi everyone,

I have a bit of a dilemma on my hands, and I would really appreciate your advice. (I posted this over at a law school forum as well without much response, so I'm hoping people in academia might have some input on my current situation.)

I graduated in 2010 with a B.S. in Mathematics, worked for 2 years, then started a Msc. in Finance in Europe (I'm American) on scholarship, with the intent of pursuing a PhD in Finance and then going on to law school. Long story short, I'm not cut out for academia, and certainly not cut out for academia in finance. I'm in my second year, and I've been applying to law school, which I'd intended to do all along - just after I did my PhD. My undergraduate grades are good and my LSAT score is decent, and law school is mostly a numbers game, so barring odd circumstances/bad luck I should be able to get into somewhere worth going.

My question is, if I were accepted, would it completely ruin my resume to not finish my degree? I regret not having dropped out in the 1st year - at the moment, I'm 90% sure I cannot fit in the required language exams, dissertation, and internship into the remaining time period, it looks like there's almost no way I can finish my Msc in 2 years (most people in my program do not, anyhow), but the Msc is supposed to be a 2 year degree, so I'm wondering how weird it would look for me to have spent 2 years in the program and emerge diplomaless. At the same time, though, if I dropped out right now without a job lined up, that would leave an unattractive gap on my resume as well.