Benefits/drawbacks of getting an MA/MS before a PhD in I/O Psych

SuperiorDesign

Can anyone offer any guidance about the merits (or drawbacks) of applying to an I/O Psychology Master's program before applying to a PhD? I'm 90% certain I want a PhD because I'd like research and potentially to teach. But I've been out of undergrad for about 5 years, my degree is in Sociology, and I don't have much solid research experience besides my senior thesis. I am aware that most Master's Programs aren't funded, but are there any other reasons for/against a Master's that you can offer? Thanks!

I think another drawback would be that you would have to go through the application process again in two years, for what that may be worth.

I have heard that not all Masters Programs feature the advisor/advisee relationship that you would get in a PhD program..

There's a chance that PhD programs won't take all the credits from your Master's program.

On the other hand, with your Bachelor's degree being in a different field, it may strengthen your application. Additionally, finding good paying jobs with a Master's in I/O is very possible. There are some funded Master's programs out there.

Funded or unfunded, make sure it's a mentor-based program.

I went through an unfunded master's program (of course, I'm not in I/O) and it was the best choice for me. I'm really happy with the experiences I had and the outcome from it (I'm in a PhD program now), as well as the personal growth that occurred BEFORE I got to my PhD program.

A master's would give you the opportunity to get some solid research experience (if you pick a good program) and would help you be sure that you want to continue on in I/O and that you really want to get a PhD.