Taking Comprehensive Exams...

Anyone else taking their comps/quals this semester?  I have decided that I would rather write 3 dissertations than take theses exams.  My committee doesn't seem to agree!

I'm in a PhD program in Religious Studies, in the Anthropology of Religion track.  We have three exam papers, taken over the course of a week.  We get 4 hours for each paper.  Doesn't seem like nearly enough time for me to be comprehensive...

Anyone else in this same boat???

• 3 weeks later...

A little late to the game but I'll be taking my exam this semester too. I'm a geology student specializing in ichnology (field of paleontology) and our exams are completely oral. 20 minute presentation on your dissertation work & then 2 hours of getting questioned by your committee on everything you know. There's so much I'd rather do than these exams and they feel quite daunting.

Definitely in the same boat!

We had two rounds of these. The first gave us 6 questions, and we had to write essay answers for four of them. We had 4 hours total to do this (all of us were in one room). We were expected to write at least 4 pages on each question, by hand (using those blue books). I cranked out 24 pages total. They expect extremely thorough responses. This happened at the end of our 2nd semester. Then, once you have your dissertation plan ready, they give you 3 paper topics for your advanced exams. First is theory, second is method, and finally an NSF style dissertation proposal. We have months to prepare for these, though we don't know exactly what will be asked, you have an idea. Once it's time to write, the process takes 3 weeks.  5 days for each question. They limit you to only 20 pages, so you have to be concise, but thorough. A few weeks later we defend these orally.