Possibly getting kicked out of / leaving PhD program!

geekman1

Okay, so the title may be slightly misleading and I also apologize if this is the wrong forum for this. Here is my situation:

I am currently attending a PhD program (in a math-related field). I am in my second year, so I've attended for 3 semesters now. To 'advance' in the program, you must pass the qualifying exam. You get 3 chances at this exam. I took it the first time the end of my first year and failed at the PhD level. I took it again this winter and failed again.

I've heard many stories from people, that no one fails 3 times... that the professors will just conditionally pass you the third time. But, I tend to not believe such rumors. Also, why would they fail me twice if they wanted me to stick around? I don't know what will change the third time I take it.

At this point, I am at a horrible crossroads... Either I stick around and take it again. At which point, if I fail, I assume I will be immediately kicked out of the program and have nowhere to go. Or, I can just not take it the third time and start looking for other employment. It feels terrible to have to make this decision. I'm not sure if I'm looking for advice or if I'm just venting, but I really don't know what to do. A PhD has always been my dream, yet at this point I am so disheartened and numb to the whole idea. I hope everyone else is doing ok though! Thanks for listening to me!

Well, it sounds like your only option is to take it. Is there something you're doing wrong? Can you go over past tests or talk to someone about how to improve? Exhaust all your options. At the very least, don't give them any reason to say you didn't do everything you could.

I think you're assuming a lot. 

For instance, you assume that if you fail you're immediately kicked out of the program with nowhere left to go. While that may indeed be the case, it's not what I've seen at any other program.