How many pages did your SOP have when you submitted your app?

kant

I have prepared 3 versions of SOP
1. 2 pages length - 1400 word limit
2. 1000 word length
3. 500 to 600 word length

i have submitted 2 pages SOP approx 5 universities, before i have applied to other universities they needed 500 to 700 words only so i have shortened my SOP to that word limit, i have prepared separate SOP for each and every university where as my 1st 3 paragraphs information is same only last 2 paras are tailor made to according to the applied university  

4/6 SOPs were 700 words; 2 had a limit of 4,000 characters, they were ~ 600 words. Just one page... short and to the point. I have no research experience, and didn't have much to talk about. All my paragraphs were the same except for one paragraph, which was tailored toward the university.

The first time i wrote my SoP I did it on a whim, before I actually applied. I did it a day I felt inspired, and I figured that I might as well write it out for when the actual time to apply came up. Problem is, I wasn't exactly scant on words... so I ended up with a whopping 3000 word monster. So I shortened it. I shortened it a lot. 

But by the time I had trimmed it down to 1500 it didn't make sense anymore, so I rewrote it. This time it measured up precisely 1499 words. But then came the Unis with 1000 word limits, so i trimmed it down. But it happens that when you have to trim it down so much, it's best to simply find yet another angle and so I got down to it, and left it at 650 words.

Finally came the 500 word limit Unis, so, I rewrote once more. Condensed at 499. 

So counting back, I have roughly 6 versions. I only ended up using two though, the 650 word one and the 499 one. I figured they say what I really wanted to say.