Should I do an unfunded MA?

Hi everybody,

I have a problem. And since many of you are much more experienced, I was hoping you could help. I applied to several PhD programs and have, so far, received multiple rejections and one wait list. I was just notified today that I was accepted to NYU's unfuded MA program. I still have two more programs to hear from, one that offers funding, but is highly competitive, and the other that is lower ranked, but has flaky funding packages.

I'm not sure how funding issues work out for wait-listed applicants should they be accepted.

So, should I take the offer? This would mean I would have to quickly search and apply for external funding, which, hopefully, the university would match, or should I wait for other options? If I do not receive funding, I'll have to take out loans for tuition and living expenses...in New York.

Any feedback would be most appreciated.

I'm not that experienced with this (it's my first application season) but I have sought tons of advice from professors about this issue. It is their recommendation, and mine, that you should NEVER pay for a graduate degree in English. The reasons for this are 1) You will never get the "take-back" from an English degree that would make your debt "worth it." I'm sure the job market is no secret to you, and even though so many of us are still willing to go "all in" and see what happens, we should NOT be going into debt trying to do it. 2) There are so many programs that will pay for your degree. You might have to wait a until next year, but it would still be worth it because of the funding.

Not to mention, NYU is very pricey, and living in the city is excruciatingly expensive.

Edited by ke6904