Change Waiting it Out to Working it Out

engphiledu

Whether you're still anxiously waiting for news, in the midst of making a tough decision, or you're in the state of post-rejection blues, it's easy to say we're all stressed. In addition, I have seen some struggling with stress-eating or failing to eat as a consequence of months of being in limbo about where next our lives will take us. 

I'm no trainer or nutritionist, but I have been a coach for several years and an athlete and motivator for a much longer time. I can only give so much advice, but I thought this would be a good place for people currently struggling to turn negativity and doubt into a positive experience.

If you just want someone to talk to, if you want some advice on getting started on an exercise program, or if you need some support or someone to hold you accountable, I would be happy to help. We are all used to working out our brains, but let's work towards making both our minds and bodies strong. 

For me, running is the greatest stress reliever there is and it has gotten me through a whole mess of troubles. However, I've been trying to get myself to run to help with grad app stress for the last 2 months and have just been utterly failing. I know the cold has a lot to do with it, but the treadmill is just downstairs in the gym at work and I've got my running clothes on me pretty much at all times, but I just can't get the motivation together. Do you have any recommendations to help me get things back into gear? 

I think this is a great approach to managing the stress of waiting. I just hit my goal weight today after having my second baby in October (35 pounds of pregnancy weight plus 10!) I feel great!