GRE Quantitative

newenglandshawn

I know this question is often brought up on here but I was wanting to get everyone's fresh perspective. I am due to take the GRE at the end of May. I'm feeling pretty good about the verbal section, but I am terrible at math. When I took a practice test, I only did about half of the quantitative section and didn't really bother with the rest. And now that I am studying for the exam, I am finding that the math concepts - which I have not dealt with in well over a decade - are not coming easily for me.

I know many people say to not even bother with studying for the quantitative section, but I can't imagine that someone who gets below 150 (assuming I do if I don't study at all for it) has any chance of getting into a top program - especially if he/she has other deficiencies in the application (namely, languages). So, on an anecdotal level, what are some of the lower scores you've heard people get on the quantitative section and still get into a top program? Should I bother putting 3-5 weeks studying math, and then spend the rest of my time brushing up for the verbal (I'm feeling confident that I should be able to get in the mid-160s for the verbal)? Or should I just focus solely on the verbal and writing and not worry at all about the quantitative?

I wish you could take the sections separately! I don't want to put off the verbal section until the fall, but I wouldn't mind more time to study the quantitative so I can actually learn the concepts.