Tips for transforming into a morning writer...?

Any tips? 

People often confuse this type of question as one asking for advice on how to wake up earlier. That is not what I am asking, so if your answer is 'go to bed earlier,' or 'have the coffee ready when you wake up,' etc., please don't respond.

If I need to wake up, I can wake up just fine. What I struggle with is being productive during the hours of, say, 6-8 am. I'd like to change that. I'd like to begin producing more work, but I often find myself wasting a lot of afternoon time, and I can no longer work past 9-10 at night like I used to as an undergrad. I just find that whatever I write after about 9ish pm is usually junk. Following all this, it has become apparent to me that I need to start taking advantage of the early morning hours, but I am not very good at it. 

Advice? 

Edited by objectivityofcontradiction

For me, it's music. I like to put on something like Haydn Symphony No. 94, Beethoven's 9th, or Mahler's 9th (or even electronic music like Tycho's Past is Prologue album) and start crackin' away with a cup of coffee in hand. I would ask if you think that it's the time (morning), or if it's other habits that allow you to be distracted during that time. For example, what do you do when you get up? I bet you check your e-mail, maybe Facebook, fantasy draft, blah blah. You may not realize how much of a distraction the internet is, but you might try unplugging the internet and putting on some music. 

Since it's hard for you to write at 9pm (understandable), you might use that time to make a list of what you need to get the next morning. That way, when you wake up you have a game plan - turn on the music, unplug the internet, and get to work. If you need the internet for articles or something, try to get them the night before, at least. Or, you could have a lap top in another room that is online for quick googles.