Cross country move- car packing tips?

ginagirl

I will be making the move from Tucson to Baltimore in a few weeks and have an apartment full of stuff. I have been renting on my own for two years in unfurnished apartments, so I've accumulated quite a bunch of belongings (somewhat out of necessity) but I will be moving in with roommates in August and thus need very little of what I have now. I am going to make the drive with what fits in my car and either donate, trash, or sell the rest, and re-purchase any items I still need when I arrive.

That being said, any car packing suggestions? I have a general sense of what I can keep and what I can get rid of, but does anyone have strategies for packing a pretty small car? I have a two-door, 4-seat hatch back. The back two seats fold flat to give me a sizeable space to work with, but my three duffel bags/luggage pieces already take up about half the space, and I think those will be filled with clothes and shoes. I'm worried that the day of the move I will still end up with more stuff than I can fit. My dad will be driving with me, so loading up the passenger seat too won't work. Have any of you done a full "trial pack"? Should I try to avoid boxes and instead tuck items into nooks and crannies? Any way around the bulky duffel/luggage issue? I'd love to hear what worked and what didn't from people who have done it.

Note: I looked into roof racks, but I don't think they'd be worth the money/hassle to install. Anyone disagree with this? Also I don't think my car can handle a hitch.

That's moving very, very lightly. You won't be able to move much more than some clothing, a computer, important papers, and some odds and ends. What are you doing about a bed?

I'd be a lot more inclined to rent a truck of some sort and tow your car behind it. That way you can full the car to the brim safely and actually take some furniture.