Low quant GRE: successes and failures

dragonage

Hello there, new to the site and wondering if we could discuss how having a low quantitative gre score will affect our chances of being admitted to Psychology (research-based) PhD programs. 

This is my first time applying to PhD programs. Although I am finishing up a master's right now and have a great application otherwise, my quantitative gre score is lower than the 50th percentile. 

I did not apply to any seriously high-ranked schools (I only applied based on research fit, but am still hoping for funding from some of the public ones), however, I have not heard any news from any of the schools I applied to (the last deadline was Jan. 15th, with most others having Dec. deadlines). 

I understand the gre is used extensively in the admissions process, but I'm also hoping that some programs may view it as more of a formality (especially if the application is outstanding otherwise)?

I would love to hear from those with low quant scores who are already attending or admitted to programs, but I'm also interested in hearing from those that have been rejected from programs due only to their low quant score. 

Thank you all, and best of luck to those applying this year!

I would love to hear from those with low quant scores who are already attending or admitted to programs, but I'm also interested in hearing from those that have been rejected from programs due only to their low quant score. 

I doubt people would receive a rejection letter that says "your quant score is too low". ETS even says you shouldn't filter applications solely on GRE scores (using cut off scores that say "if you are below this, you are rejected").

Edited by <ian>