History and Memory

kblooms

Hey all, I'm looking to start reading some seminal works on memory and history to see if it can be adapted for ancient/Roman history. Anyone have some suggestions for the groundbreaking works of the study of memory for more modern history?

Hi ! I'm no expert and I have never read this book (ok this is starting off bad, lol) but I vaguely remember one of my POIs at Emory writing something on memory. Clifton Crais. Entitled "History Lessons" but his other work is primarily on South Africa so not sure of the connection but I hope this helps you.

Cheers!

Hey all, I'm looking to start reading some seminal works on memory and history to see if it can be adapted for ancient/Roman history. Anyone have some suggestions for the groundbreaking works of the study of memory for more modern history?

A lot of medieval stuff incorporates modern theory; check Smail, Daniel Lord. Imaginary Cartographies: Possession and Identity in Late Medieval Marseille. Ithaca: Cornell University Press, 2000; Brown, Warren, Marios Costambeys, Matthew Innes, and Adam J. Kosto, eds. Documentary Culture and the Laity in the Early Middle Ages. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2013; French, Katherine L. The People of the Parish: Community Life in a Late Medieval English Diocese. The Middle Ages Series. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, 2001.

Also see much of the work of Amy Remensnyder, e.g. “Topographies of Memory: Center and Periphery in High Medieval France.” In Medieval Concepts of the Past: Ritual, Memory, Historiography, edited by Gerd Althof, Johannes Fried, and Patrick Geary, 193–214. Publications of the German Historical Institute. Washington: German Historical Institute, 2002.

A personal favorite of mine, and the best-written history book I've ever read is Fussell, Paul. The Great War and Modern Memory. New York: Oxford University Press, 2000.