Accepted in PhD but not given aid :(

sreyb

Hi All,

I received an acceptance letter for PhD degree in Computer Science from UDel but no financial aid. Upon asking, whether there is a possibility of aid, the university told me that they would not be providing any aid. I am at a loss. I am an internationa student and how does one study for PhD without any funding!!! Please help :(

Last time, this same thing happened with UNL and I had to defer my application to Fall 2015.

At least it is recommended by me and many other people that you simply throw away Phd offers without funding especially you are an international student.

Main Reason:

1. You cannot work during your stay in the U.S.. This means your tuition and life expenses have to be fully paid by yourself. The only exception are on-campus jobs, and a 12-month OPT period, in which you are allowed to be hired. But to solely rely on these sources for your financial well-being is unthinkable. So again, be prepared to pay most of your tuition and expenses. I don't know about your economic condition, but this is too painful/impossible for most families.

2. A degree will not automatically boost your chance to get a well-paying job or stay in the U.S.. Balancing the cost and gains you would find that it is not worth it.

I would really, really, really caution you not to do a PhD without funding (unless you have LOTS of spare cash laying around). It's a lot of debt to take on and, unlike with a masters, there's really no guarantee that you'll make that money back in terms of career experience. I would work and save for a year and then try again. During this time, maybe you can do a project or something to make next year's application even better, so that you can have a better shot at funding next time around. For myself, I waited on purpose to get some experience that would make me more competitive because I knew that without funding, a PhD wasn't an option. I really hope things work out for you.