Hey y'all,

I thought there was a thread along these lines somewhere already, but now I can't find it.  Just wondering what some of your plans are this summer before you start your programs, thinking maybe it can be a help to those who are trying to figure things out still.

I'm currently paying the bills through teaching, so this summer is a big questions mark for me.  I'm moving down to Chicago this summer and looking for opportunities for summer teaching programs and paid internships with non-profits.  I'm hoping to be able to take an intensive summer language class for the beginning of the summer, but that's looking less and less likely as I look at the limited job options out there.  It's also hard to apply for jobs at my new university since I'm not technically a student yet, I don't think.

Anyone else going through this process right now?  I would love to have the luxury to just take my class and relax with some books until September (or at least take my class and then have a job for August through September), but unfortunately that's not looking like an option.

They are not internships per se, but jobs at NORC at UChicago may be of interest to you: http://www.norc.org/WorkingAtNORC/Pages/default.aspx.

Thanks for sharing!  Looking into this...

Have you looked into the summer programs at Northwestern for K-12 students? I believe they're hiring...

I actually just applied to be a teaching assistant for one of their summer programs!

I pay the bills by manning a backcountry ranger station, so I will print out every article in my future field I can get my hands on, fill a box full of the books I think will be important, and -- you know, nature and stuff.

Out of upvotes but this sounds amazing! 

I used to be really into Kerouac in my high school days and I remember reading (in Dharma Bums, I think?)  about his experiences spending time in one of those fire lookout posts. That was my dream summer for a long time!