Top 15 vs Top 50

so undecided

Here are the pros and cons for each university. I need to decide between these two biology PhD programs.

1) Top 15:

- ivy-league

- small city

-RAship and TAship

- less research interest fit

2) Top 50:

-larger city

-RAship

-there are more labs that fit my research interest

-the program has a larger size in terms of faculty and students

I want to go into academia.  How much ranking of the university matters? 

I would go to the top 15 for sure, unless you think you would be considerably happier at the top 50 or the financial situation is considerably better there. Rank matters a lot in academia and the things you've listed about each school don't make the top 50 sound much more appealing. Larger size has pros and cons, and your research interests may change, so as long as there are one or two people you can work with at the first school it sounds like a better bet. 

Edited by brown_eyed_girl

My PI (top 20 school where I am a lab tech) says that once you hit the top 50s, it's more the reputation of the PI and their work rather than just the school.

Rather than rankings, I would decide based on funding and research fit. I personally wouldn't go somewhere that required me to TA for my funding, because that's just time spent away from research. If you want to end up teaching, then you won't be as opposed to the TA experiences as I am. I would also go where there are more professors in whose work I am interested.

Edited by babybird

Top 15 vs. top 50 is a significant difference if you want to go into academia. Since you didn't list a really compelling reason to go to the top 50 one (e.g. top 15 unfunded or something), I'd recommend you take the top 15 offer.

My PI (top 20 school where I am a lab tech) says that once you hit the top 50s, it's more the reputation of the PI and their work rather than just the school.