Can I transfer to another PhD program after 1st semester?

I am an international student and going to attend a PhD program this Fall. I found it extremely hard to choose between two schools and waited till the last minute to make a decision. Both schools are nearly of the same reputed (2-3 ranks difference maybe) which further added to my confusion. Being an international student, I was also not able to visit any university. The opinions I formed about the university and departments were largely based on Skype conversations I had with POIs at the two universities, in addition to short email exchanges with a few grad students there.

The issue is this: Place A is a little better in terms of research fit (have 4 POIs as opposed to 3 at B, and two of them are very famous while all are associate profs at B ), whereas place B was attractive for many non-academic reasons.

Being an international student who has never left the country, I felt it was very important for me to make sure that I was comfortable with living arrangements and the university. This has been a sort of psychological issue I have had for quite some time (I am trying hard to correct, but to no avail). I am a very big introvert who constantly needs to be around other introvertsy friends. I had quit one summer internship in the past because I had to work in a city far away from my home town, where after going there I had a miserable experience - not knowing the local language, sub-par living accommodation (very dirty, non-private toilets) etc. Place B seemed more at home for me since I personally know two students there who were happy and doing well, in addition to having a considerable representation of students from my country. Also a class mate of mine is joining the same university, but different department. Place A did not have anyone I know over there, and I could not really relate to any grad student over there through email. Keeping this in mind, I decided to accept the offer from B.