The reasons to be kicked out of a program

Segel_Mahmoud

Hey guys,

I am a 1st year grad student in humanities. I was admitted to my dream school (yay), not top 20, but still pretty decent. My first semester I took 4 courses, which is more than required (9 hours is required), but for my second and subsequent semesters I need to take some courses from another department because I feel like I really need to strengten my math skills before digging into dissertation. So I will take just 2 courses in my department and 2 in Math and Statistics, at least for 2 semesters. Though I think most of our students just take 3 courses in our department per semester. The question is, assuming that I receive A's (and may be a couple of B's in rare cases), so basically doing very well in terms of grades, can my department still consider me as a "traitor" or someone and kick me out because I take just 2 courses in my department every semester, thus it will take me longer to complete the program?

I tried to google it, but did not find a single case where department kicked a student out because that student decided to take additional courses and extended his time in PhD program.

Also, assume that my funding is not coming from the department.

Please help, I am really being nervous about it.

Isn't this something you can ask your adviser or other department faculty/staff about? Or perhaps the student handbook or policy guidelines outline the procedure for taking courses outside one's department?

Yes, out handbook indicates that we have to take 6 hours in our department + 3 hours. But in terms of classes I feel like it is mostly up to student what to take, especially at the very beginning. So that is why I am asking it here. I mean, we are not assigned advisors until we finish coursework.

Are you fulfilling your handbook's requirements for "satisfactory progress towards degree"? Are you in violation of any cap on the number of courses you can take outside the department?