Who is your favorite philosopher? What was your favorite reading?

FoxAndChicken

I just realized that this being a philosophy gathering means I can totally geek out about cool philosophy here. :D So, my area is logic and I really enjoyed Frege's Sense and Nominatum. However, completely outside of my area of interest but surprisingly my favorite class this semester is Philosophy of Happiness, and I really enjoyed Haybron's work. 

I'm a trainee of analytic philosophy, and within that tradition I'm fond of what little Wittgenstein I've read. I do mind and language, and there I like David Lewis' writing but not necessarily his philosophy. I feel somewhat the same about Searle. Chalmers is obviously cool but also a bit hand-wavy at times. Dennett and Hofstadter seem like well-moderated minds, insofar as I have read them.

But if I'm to be totally honest, as far as my favourite philosopher is concerned, I'm a slave to an insatiable obsession with the continental and their predecessors. Probably my favourite author of all time is Nietzsche - his writing is some of the most invigorating prose I have ever read. Ecce Homo is simply a masterpiece. Sartre is also wonderful. My first experience with the whole theme and style was Dostoyevsky's Notes From Underground, and that remains my absolute favourite work of all time. If nothing else, I will carry this around with me the rest of my life:

But yet mathematical certainty is after all, something insufferable. Twice two makes four seems to me simply a piece of insolence. Twice two makes four is a pert coxcomb who stands with arms akimbo barring you path and spitting. I admit that twice two makes four is an excellent thing, but if we are to give everything its due, twice two makes five is sometimes a very charming thing too. -IX