What to do after no acceptances?

atamu

I was rejected from all of the schools I applied to and right now I have no idea what to do. I am looking for non-degree opportunities at the moment but have had no luck so far. The only option I can think of is doing independent research until graduate applications come up again.

How could I keep busy in the meanwhile? Other than increasing GRE scores (even though they were decent), which is a given.

I'm in a similar boat to you, applied to 8 schools and was rejected across the board. I'm trying to gain leverage into a program because I just found out that I won a 100K doctoral scholarship from the government, so that may change. In the meantime, I'm studying for the GRE (my scores expire) and trying to push through more publications before next year. 

Last time around I was rejected from all schools, too. It's an awful feeling, but it's not a poor reflection on you personally. Don't beat yourself up. Give yourself time to be sad, and decided whether or not you really want to go to grad school. 

If you do, fantastic! Here's what I did:

• I retook my GRE's and spent a lot of time studying. 
  • Volunteered in a lab (even though I had graduated).
  • Took an online graduate certificate course from a mildly well known university.
  • Attended two local conferences (undergrad/university level) for a poster presentation.
  • Started a major project in the lab, and hopefully we'll have some publishable results.
  • Wrote an article that was published in a student journal. 
  • Attended some online webinars that were related to my research interests. 
  • Rewrote my CV & Personal Statements.
  • Applied for an outside grant.
  • Got a paid job with the title of Research Assistant, even though it's not remotely related to what I want to study.
  • Made sure that I had an excellent research fit with the programs I wanted to apply to this time around.