What else do I need to do to be a competitive applicant?

I am hoping for a little help deciding what my best move is this summer and fall to help my application. I am an out-of-field applicant applying to 3-year tracks. My issue is that I do not think I have time to fit everything in that I would like to. I am currently working directly in the field, essentially as an SLPA without the certification with children and young adults with language disorders, but have only been doing this for a little over a year. I have an English degree with a good GPA but I only have linguistics and anatomy prereqs completed. I am studying for the GRE and will take it at the end of September. I am also signing up for the required statistics course this fall to take in the evenings. I am making calls to shadow clinicians in other settings as well. I will be busy between GRE studying, a class, and work, but I would appreciate input on if I should do anything else! 

I could....

1) Take a speech-related class in the fall, along with the statistics course (this would help me get an academic LoR, since I have been out of school for 5 years - although I could get three great ones from supervisors in my current position)

2) Volunteer in an area of interest I do not have experience in yet

3) Try to fit in all of the above, maybe with a volunteer opportunity that doesn't require many hours?

3) Chill out (if possible!) and focus on studying for the GRE and writing my POS (and this could give me more time to study to retake the GRE if needed)

4) Any other thoughts? 

Thank you!!!!!! 

Edited by plume

Most people find Phonetics to be an easy class and it's one that all grad schools are going to require you to complete (either as pre-req or as part of an extended master's). I would imagine that you'd find it easy with an English degree and having already taken linguistics (the linguistics course I took had a module on IPA, though I still had to take a full semester course in Phonetics).