Questions about GRE scores

ironshieldmaiden

I took the PowerPrep practice test today and scored a 156 V and a 145 Q. I scored a 150 Q on Magoosh. I take the GRE next Thursday and I can't reschedule or else I won't be able to make the application deadlines. I'm scared to death that I won't get into graduate schools due to my poor performance so far on the GRE. No matter what I do I can't seem to boost my verbal score any higher and I'm basically hopeless concerning the math. Other than my GRE scores I'm an excellent student. I graduated with a 3.99 GPA and with highest Latin honors in addition to being a part of Phi Beta Kappa and Alpha Chi. My writing sample is really strong and is arguably one of the best things I've written according to my professor.

I'm applying to the anthropology departments at Columbia, University of Chicago, UT Austin, Stanford, Cornell, MSU, UC Berkeley, Johns Hopkins, Brown, and Rice.

Is there hope that I'll be able to get into these programs despite my, most likely, bad GRE scores?

The answer is "maybe". I know someone who was admitted to Columbia's Anthro program (years ago) that had a 790 q/800 v, 6.0 aw,. so take from that what you will. If you're a convincing applicant, I can't imagine that they'd throw out your application based entirely on your GRE. However, GRE scores can be used to filter out candidates and you're kind of teetering on "is the score too low to be given serious consideration" by top tier programs who usually expect a higher qualitative score (and if it's a quant. heavy methods, a higher math). Top tier programs can choose to be picky with almost every criteria, including test scores--but it doesn't necessarily follow that they always do this in practice.