Low GRE Outweigh Otherwise Great App?

JKL

Would a low GRE (perhaps worse than low - maybe one point above a squirrel) of 135-140 on the quantitative portion and 150-155 on the verbal outweigh an application with great LOR, great SOP, an article publication, encyclopedia entry in progress, and an Honors thesis in progress? I'm an undergraduate, but I'm trying to imagine scenarios that would keep me out of a top-ranked PhD program. Would a GRE score in that range do it?

I'm not qualified to answer this, since I'm not on any committee, but I would imagine that if it were to boil down as a toss up between you and another candidate, maybe then the GRE might come into play (to arbitrate strength)...I could be wrong. I like to think GRE isn't as important as we all think, but who knows. 

Nor am I qualified as an adcom member, but I do wonder if a program has tons of applications to sift through, if they have some minimum GRE number as an initial screen to make first cuts. If that is the case, I would have some concern that I might end up in the "no" pile before they had a chance to look at me holistically.

Thank you guys for the responses. It baffles me that programs simultaneously want applicants with research experience yet are willing to write-off an applicant without looking at what research experience they bring with them. This makes the admissions process contradictory at worst and incoherent at best. "We're looking for experience, but we don't actually look at the experience." What a farce. But I suppose they can do whatever they please.