Negotiating Awkward Social Situation at Ground Zero

Leafytea

Hello, I'm new to the forum. This question may have been addressed somewhere else, but I thought I'd just post a new thread.

I am currently a masters student at a university where I have applied to a related PhD program. I actually see the profs who serve on the adcomm regularly, because they are my professors in my current program, and my adviser now would be my adviser if I end up staying for the PhD. I have a pretty good relationship with at least four profs in the department that I applied to.

BUT. They have not told me anything about admissions yet, and it is killing me. Should I, or should I not ask them point blank?

It seems like some admissions decisions have been handed out from the university, but not in my department. Next week might be it...but this week was increasingly nerve-racking, as the gears in my brain spun furiously whenever I saw one of the profs who *might* tell me the decision.

What do you think? Should I just tear off the band-aid and ask? Or is that a bad idea?

I know the suspense is awful, but I'd wait. Even though you know the professors, it still risks putting them in an awkward situation. I'm sure they'd understand your curiosity, but still, they might get turned off if you asked.

I would just wait :) I think it looks better to be patient and wait for the formal notification...last year I got too anxious and ended up regretting asking too many questions of my points of contacts that I think I annoyed them. Best to wait it out, even though I know it's painful!

Like everyone has said, I think it's best to wait. When you see your profs around the department, just try giving them a confident smile as you keep a respectful distance; that will probably give them the best impression. Best of luck to you!