Clinical Psychology hopeful...

ClinicalMan

Hi Everyone, 

I am a third year undergraduate psychology honours student. Over the past year or so I have decided that I very badly want to be a clinical psychologist as helping people in this way would be an absolute dream come true for me. I don't know why, but theres something that just keeps screaming to me that I do not have what it takes.. I live in Fredericton New Brunswick, meaning UNB has a MA/PhD program available to me when I graduate, but everyone just keeps telling me how competitive clinical is to get into and I just feel as though i don't have what it takes to be honest. My GPA so far for my undergraduate degree is about 4.0/4.3, or about a 3.84ish/4.0. I absolutely love psychology and the idea that I could make a career out of it (and helping people to boot) but the the apparent competitiveness of getting accepted to the programs in Canada is so overwhelming for me because I don't want to feel like I'm chasing something that is not realistically within my reach. I haven't written the GRE's, so I cant comment much on that, but does anyone else ever feel this way? I'm sort of scared that I'm going to chase this dream with all my heart only to end up failing... I do not currently have much lab experience, but i think I'm going to work hard over the next two years to get as much as I possibly can.. Anyone have any advice or insight? 

Thanks so much for reading :) 

45 minutes ago, ClinicalMan said:

Hi Everyone,