Some much needed advice for a person without a BA in Pscyh looking at Grad School

Thoth

I graduated from Fordham in 2014 with a Degree in Philosophy (GPA 3.6) and I'm here to ask some dumb questions.

I'm very interested in psychology and want to pursue a PhD somewhere in Social Psychology. The only problem is I'm not exactly sure how to move forward. I have no research experience, no published work, and only an Intro Psych and Statistics class to my name. For the time being, particularly due to financial circumstances, I don't see myself moving out of NYC.

I've been considering getting a Master's from NYU or Hunter, as I feel like I don't have the chops to really compete with other prospective students. NYU is outrageously expensive, but there's some faculty there that really excites me and I feel it would set me up for a good chance at a PhD. Hunter is the opposite; much cheaper but only a professor or two I'm interested in working with.

I've also been considering doing the post-bac psychology program at Columbia. This option seems to be somewhere in between the two above; it's very expensive, has seemingly great results, but I also don't get a degree out of it.

Is it possible to work at a research lab without experience and without enrolling in a college? 

Has anyone else had a similar experience, have words of wisdom, or a slap in the face that can bring to back to reality? Any advice or guidance would be appreciated. I feel rather overwhelmed by this whole process.

Thanks much.

I think it's premature and presumptuous to assume that you "don't have the chops to really compete with other prospective students." How do you know this for sure when you haven't even tried taking a bunch of psychology courses to see what you are capable of accomplishing?