Marquette or Wheaton for Church History?

ypastorpat

Hi guys!  I'm brand new to this, but I'm looking for advice and found these forums.  Looks like you're a helpful bunch!

I'm hoping to study Church History with a focus on the early Church.  I've been accepted into Marquette and Wheaton.  I've been offered a full tuition scholarship to Marquette, and a $7000/year scholarship to Wheaton (about 2/3s of the cost).  Is Wheaton's program significantly better than Marquette's?  Better enough to warrant turning down a full ride?  I'm obviously strongly leaning towards Marquette, especially with that offer, but I just want to make sure I'm not passing on a school that's worth paying a bit more for.  Thanks!

M.A. but interested in pursuing a PhD afterwards (not necessarily at the same school), so basically wondering what would set me up the best for that.

Edited by ypastorpat

What's your ideal teaching environment should you get a PhD? Wheaton carries a lot of clout in the evangelical community while Marquette is Catholic, of course. This matters more post-PhD but it's something to be mindful of.

At this stage, I'd accept the Marquette offer myself. I don't know Wheaton and Marquette's placement record for getting students into a PhD but if a faculty member or two would be willing to tell you, that would be useful information.

I'm Evangelical myself, but probably more ecumenical than most.  I really would like to work to build some bridges between the three big branches of Christianity, using our shared history as a starting point.  So I'd most likely end up in an Evangelical school, but I wouldn't rule out a Catholic university either.  How important is diversity in your college career? I.e. is it beneficial to have experience at both Evangelical, Catholic, and mainline schools?  Or better to just stick to one tradition and specialize?