Embarrassing low GPA

So I will be going into my senior year this fall. I go to a state school in pa. I have yet to take my GRE but I have an embarrassing low GPA. I have a 3.135. I am going to be retaking a course in the summer time that I got a C in and I will be retaking another course I got a C in next semester. 

During my second year of school, I got really ill. I had/have serve health issues. In addition to having really bad personal issues. 

I want to get into grad school more than anything. I have a nine year old brother who uses an AAC device and is totally nonverbal. I've been involved with speech therapy since he was two. I also work at my local YMCA, I work with children who are pretty at risk and I love my job. It is my passion. I am a member of NISHLA, sign language and braill club and was in a sorority for two years. Any advice?

Look into programs that consider the last 60 units, study your backside off for the GRE, and maybe consider doing the AAC certificate that Cal State Northridge online offers. Address the health issues in your personal statement (you don't need to get specific due to medical privacy) to explain the poor grades but make sure you stress that you're doing better now.

Your GPA is not "embarrassingly low" but I felt the same way about mine, so I understand. I also had a health issue my first year of school. Your GPA does not mean you can't get into program—I got into 4 great ones!

I applied to some programs that looked at the last 60 units (my GPA for that is around 3.9) and funnily those were ones I was wait listed at or rejected from. I am not saying you should not apply to schools that look at the last 60. I think you should, and there are other factors that went into play for my rejections (U of A is very competitive anyway, for example).