Low GPA...great work experience

Hi all I'm new to these types of forums and realize I may be skirting the "AM I COMPETITIVE" thread, but thought I'd get a feel for how things work around here. Sorry if this is the case!

I'm currently beginning my MPP/MPA application process, now just browsing through programs and such. The responses by all of you to many a thread have been hugely helpful in wrapping my brain around which schools I may apply to, and which program suit me best. In short I have a few questions I would love to get some insight on (I hope this helps others out as well)...

I was the classic victim of fun during undergrad, resulting in a lower than ideal GPA (2.95 or so). This has me quite worried when seeking out various programs of interest to me. Because of my GPA I feel I will overlooked more often than not...even though it is not illustrative of my as an individual post college. 

Following Undergrad (at a top 30 liberal arts school) I went to work on the Hill for a congressional office doing legislative work (working first as an SA as many do). Following about 2 years of work on the Hill I went into the Peace Corps, with whom I currently serving as an English Teacher in a State Department Critical Language country. I anticipate I will be work-proficient in my service country's language upon COS - I must note I did not join PC for grad. school, it was a decision I have long wanted and find to be the most rewarding experience of my life thus far. 

I am currently in the midst of taking both a macro and micro online course for credit through UT in order to get credit and prove my quantitative skills. I anticipate an A or A- in each of these. 

I will most likely be receiving letters of recommendations from a Member of Congress, as well as my Country Director for the Peace Corps. 

I have not taken the GRE's yet but have devoted much time to studying and feel confident going into them...hope to be in the ball park of most schools median scores.