PhD public policy- please help- unsure of what rank schools to target

Hi, 

I am an international student and I plan to apply for Policy PhD programs. Also, I plan to apply for a few masters (stats/econ) programs as a back up if I do not get into a PhD program.

Schools applying: 

Geographical preference: Colorado/Boulder/Denver area (low cost of living for me), however, I will apply to other schools throughout USA. A very preliminary PhD list I have includes:

PhD Pol Sci Colorado State (Environmental policy focus)

PhD Energy Economics Colorado School of Mines

PhD Environmental studies (interdisciplinary) University of Colorado Boulder

PhD Public Affairs (UC Denver)

PhD Engineering and Policy (Cornell)

PhD Public Affairs (Indiana SPEA)

PhD Policy UT Austin (LBJ)

PhD Policy University of Kansas

Masters: statistics/Economics (University of Colorado- Boulder/Denver, Colorado school of mines)

Undergraduate degree: Electrical Engineering 

Undergrad University: (university in top 20 in India- not IIT/IIM/NIT)

Undergrad CGPA 60/100 (2.88/4 as per WES- helps calculates GPAs but I think its an approximation and depends on how universities calculate it)

Grad program: Masters in Public Policy 

Grad university: Low ranked state university in USA (+100 rank, relatively newer program in USA but has placed students in Indiana, Cornell, UT Austin amongst a few)

Grad GPA- 3.75/4

Quantitative: Strong quant with engineering maths (3+ maths subjects with advanced calculus: grades are A, A-and C ) and some basic quant classes in policy analysis along with micro/macro economics. B+ and A- grades in quant  in graduate degree. 

Recommendations (strong letters):

University program director, thesis committee chair, boss at federal research lab 

Relevant Work Experience (6 years): 

Research work experience in India for about 3 years in a non-profit on climate change, clean energy policy, and implementation- local, national and international (researcher)