Clinical Psychology PhD Applications

missfleur

I am applying to clinical psychology doctoral programs (this is my 4th go). In the past, I only applied to two or three universities. This year I'm applying to at least 10. I've been waitlisted in the past, so I am doing everything I can to not have to go through this again.

Here are my stats:

Undergrad GPA: 3.6

Masters GPA: 3.84

GRE: 157/157/4.5

I have over five years of research experience, both as an RA and working fulltime.

My concern, of course, is my GRE. I've heard of one faculty member at a high end (think ivy league) university who ruthlessly filters out applications if GREs are less than 160. That person could just be severe, but still, it settles to the back of my mind.

So, my question is, is it worth it to take the GRE again? I am planning to in mid-November to attempt a better score with studying with Magoosh and the official GRE books. I think it is feasible to do better.

Also, some misc. questions:

Do you personally put your research interests on your CV?

What about your GPA or course list (if you did a masters degree)?

Does anyone know a good resource for personal statements specifically for psychology students? I did get feedback once that I need to be more specific about the specific program I'm applying to. The thing is, I already had devoted 4-5 sentences to it. Is there something special they're looking for in that regard? I have limits this year of 1000 words to as short as 500, so I don't know what magical thing I'm meant to say here. I've mentioned the model they use, the specific mentor and why etc., for example.

Thank you for your help!!

Edited by missfleur