Seeking Advice About Public Policy Grad Schools

ILAR

This is my first time posting so here it goes:

I'm hoping to apply to graduate school next cycle (2018, entering fall 2019) and I've started the process of looking at graduate schools for public policy. This will be my second year of working since undergraduate, and I think after three years of solid work, I'll be ready to take the next step. My GPA in undergrad over all was a 3.64 and I graduated with distinction. My degree was an Interdisciplinary program involving Philosophy, Politics and Economics. Some of my coursework involved calculus, statistics, research methods, and advanced microeconomics. I have not taken the GRE yet, but I intend to in the spring or summer of 2018.

I worked for a disability protection and advocacy group my entire senior year of college, and now I currently work for a non-profit research group focusing on public health issues. I know that healthcare policy is my area of interest, with particular focus in areas such as Medicaid, rural health systems/access, and mental health treatment. I do have other tangential interests, such as juvenile justice and opioid addiction, but they are not my primary areas of focus at work.

When I've evaluated schools, I have looked at general requirements, the type of jobs that graduates get, and the centers offered by the program. Additionally I look at the price and funding opportunities, along with the location. I'll be honest, I've moved around in my life, so the idea of finding a school and staying in that state (or at least in the region) is very appealing to me. Being a native of the Midwest and then attending school in the South, I have a certain proclivity to those areas, though I currently live in DC (I wouldn't want to attend school here though).

Some schools that have caught my eye are the following:

1. University of Minnesota (Humphrey)

2. University of Wisconsin (LaFollette)

3. Duke (Sanford)

4. Carnegie Mellon (Heinz)