StefanN

Question

Hello,

I have been awarded the Fulbright Student Award (up to $35k for first year of Master's in the US) and at the end of the week I have to send the list of universities I prefer applying to. My problem is that I don't know how competitive I am and thus how high I should aim in selecting universities. 

Qualifications

I have obtained a BS in Computer Science from one of (if not the) best universities in my country (Romania): University of Bucharest. I have about 1.5 of work experience as a Data Scientist (at Adobe Romania, then at Bitdefender). Unfortunately I have no pure research experience, let alone publications.

My stats:

• GPA: 3.85 (converted from 9.6/10) undergrad
  • GRE*: ~160Q, 167+V, 5.0A (estimated from latest practice tests)
  • TOEFL: ~110 (estimated from latest practice tests)
  • Personal Statement
  • Study Objectives
  • CV / Resume
  • Letters of Recommendation: I can provide them if someone is really interested in reading them

*I haven't taken the GRE yet because at the end, I should provide the list of schools I want to my scores sent to and that is precisely why I am here — I haven't settled on the schools yet.

School Selection

I want to pursue a research-oriented Master's of Science program in Artificial Intelligence / Machine Learning / Data Science. I do not have a requirement for a sub-field (NLP / CV / DM / IR). Interdisciplinary opportunities (HCI / Data Visualization / Social Computing) would be a great bonus.

University preferences, in this order:

1. CMU
  2. UW
  3. Stanford
  4. Cornell
  5. Georgia Tech

These preferences are based almost exclusively on the high university rankings (taken mostly from here) and the presence of strong ML faculty.