Recommendation for Advanced Standing

ksocialwork

I am an undergraduate BSW student applying to graduate school for advanced standing. One of the schools I am applying to requires that applicants have a "recommendation for advanced standing" form filled out by the chair of their undergraduate program. Not a letter, a form. It is listed separately from the LOR section. As a satellite student, I have only met the chair of the program once but we have not crossed paths since then. They are almost 3 hours away at the main campus. I am not sure if I should email the chair directly, introducing myself and explaining the situation or if I'm supposed to just straight up put their information in since it's a form and they would probably need to reach out to my site coordinator to fill out anyway. Any comments on how to address this or format the email? 

I'd contact the chair and give them a heads-up that they're going to receive this email. It's an admin thing and shouldn't be a problem, but I think the chair would still appreciate understanding why this email suddenly appeared in their inbox. It can be short: "Dear Prof. Chair, I am Stu Dent, a BSW student in Program who is currently completing my applications for an MSW degree. As part of the application, School requires that I provide the email address for the chair of my program, so they can certify that I have advanced standing in the program (<or whatever, I'm not sure I actually understood what advanced standing means here>). I just wanted to give you a heads-up that I'm about to submit the application and you should be receiving this email soon. Thank you for your help and happy thanksgiving, -Stu". This is kind of generic because I'm not exactly sure I followed what needs to happen, but just tell the chair what they need to know so they're not surprised. I assume you're not the first or only student to make this request. 

6 minutes ago, fuzzylogician said: