Online Economics Courses

tharr011

Does anyone have suggestions for online micro/macro economics courses that schools accept? I have little quantitative experience and want to strengthen my application (SAIS, SIPA, Fletcher, Elliott). I currently live in China so they have to be completely online. Many of the online courses I have seen require in person tests. Also, do you think its ok that I will not have completed the course buy the time I submit my application?

Hey there! I took Macroeconomics online through Erie Community College (in NY), and all the tests were delivered online and open book. It cost about $1500 if I remember correctly, which is a lot cheaper than many of the others I found. Highly recommend!

However, I wouldn't spend the money taking the course if you won't have a grade to submit with your application by the deadline. Admissions committees want to see that you can succeed in grad-level quant courses. Just showing that you're willing to take the course won't add to your app, and will end up being a waste of money. I actually spoke with an admissions rep at SIPA about this before I picked my course- I'd contacted them to see if they had recommendations for which course to take, and the person I spoke to specifically said that it was a great way to bolster minimal quant experience but they would want to see the grade.

• 2 weeks later...

I did online community college coures through a couple of local community colleges: De Anza College and Foothill College. Foothill College in the springtime is particularly nice because they have certain six-week compacted courses in microeconomics and macroeconomics. 

• 1 month later...